I-PWG Biomarker Brochure

I-PWG Biomarker Brochure

logo_s.gifThe Industry Pharmacogenomics Working Group (I-PWG) is a voluntary and informal association of pharmaceutical companies engaged in research in the science of pharmacogenomics. The Group was initially established in response to regulatory requests for non-competitive information from industry about such research. The Group provides information, sometimes in the form of publications in peer-reviewed journals, and sponsors educational and informational programs intended to promote a better public understanding of pharmacogenomic research. The Group's discussions, activities, and programs are open and transparent and are limited exclusively to non-competitive matters. Topics include educational, informational, ethical, legal, and regulatory matters. Organizational and procedural rules have been adopted by the Group and by the companies they represent.


The I-PWG follows closely the activities of the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), European Medicines Evaluation Agency (EMEA) other regulators and policy groups to ensure that its activities are relevant to their programs and needs. Among other steps, The I-PWG seeks to engage these bodies in discussion and information sharing and asks their continued assistance in identifying non-competitive issues about which the Group can provide information or other support.


The Group holds teleconferences at regular (monthly) intervals and meets face-to-face annually. Smaller groups may draft materials for the Group's consideration. The activities are coordinated and administered by a Chair, selected annually from among the participants by the Group. The Chair is generally rotated from one member company to another each year. Meeting summaries are available on our site .

Each member company bears an equitable share of the Group's costs, including the costs of meetings (excluding participant travel), teleconferences, and the costs of external legal and any other consultants. Apart from legal counsel, there is no immediate need for external consultants.


Karina Bienfait (BMS)/Peter Shaw (Merck)

Past Chairs

Jean-Claude Marshall (Pfizer)
Michelle Penny (Biogen)

Sandra Prucka (Lilly)

Rebecca Blanchard (Merck)

Larry Tremaine (Pfizer)

Feng Hong (Amgen)

Anita Nelsen (GSK)

Amir Snapir (Orion Pharma)

Amelia Warner (Schering-Plough)

Nadine Cohen (J&J)
Lea Harty (Pfizer)
Mark Watson (GSK)
Ronald Salerno (Wyeth)
Julie Friedman (BMS)
Diane Barnes (Abbott)
Susan Ray (GSK)