# **I-PWG Co-Chair Transition Plan**

**Monthly Meeting** 

**Tuesday 14<sup>th</sup> February 2023** 



### History of the I-PWG

- Dec 1999 Susan Ray from Glaxo started cold calling pharma companies
- 2000 12 pharma companies form "The International Pharmacogenetics Harmonization Group"
  - Goal: Harmonize nomenclature and processes used by pharma to collect samples in clinical trials, with goal of consistency for the pharma companies, regulators, ethics committees, and patients
  - First members: Abbott, AZ, Bayer, BMS, GlaxoWellcome, J&J, Merck, Parke-Davis, Pfizer, Roche, Schering, SmithKline Beecham
- Spring 2001 became the International Pharmacogenetics Working Group
- 2001 With industry changes and mergers, companies changed to: Abbott, AZ, BMS, GSK, J&J, Novartis, Pfizer, Pharmacia, Roche, Schering AG, and Schering-Plough





#### **ACRP 2001**

- April 2001- Pre-session workshop at ACRP 25<sup>th</sup> Annual North American Meeting
  - Presenters:
    - Klaus Lindpainter, MD, MPH (Roche)
    - Peter Shaw, PhD (BMS)
    - Hakon Hakonarson, MD (deCODE Genetics, Inc)
    - Cheryl Madsen, BA (Genentech)
    - Christina Dahlstroem, PhD (Roche)
    - Susan Ray, Med (GSK)
    - Donald C. Anderson, MD (Pharmacia)





### I-PWG earliest publications

Terminology for sample collection in clinical genetic studies. B.B Spear, M.E. Heath-Chiozzi, D.M. Barnes, K. Cheesman, P. Shaw, D.A. Campbell, A. McCarthy, K. Culver, D. McHale, C. Dahlstroem, L. Hashimoto, and R. Sandbrink. 2001, Pharmacogenomics J. <u>1</u>: 101-103.

Elements of Informed Consent for Pharmacogenetic Research; Perspective of the Pharmacogenetics Working Group. DC Anderson, B Gomez-Mancilla, BB Spear, DM Barnes, K Cheeseman, PM Shaw, J Friedman, A McCarthy, C Brazell, SC Ray, D McHale, L Hashimoto, R Sandbrink, ML Watson, RA Salerno, N Cohen, and CE Lister. 2002, Pharmacogenetics J. 2: 284-92



### I-PWG F2F circa 2002/2003



Kevin Cheesman, Peter Shaw, Lara Hashimoto, Julie Friedman, Alun McCarthy, Mark Watson, Balthazar Gomez-Mancilla, Duncan McHale Ron Salerno



#### **Prior Chairs**

- Charles Paulding (Regeneron)
- Peter Shaw (Merck)
- Karina Bienfait (BMŚ)
- Jean-Claude Marshall (Pfizer)
- Michelle Penny (Biogen)
- Sandra Prucká (Lilly)
- Rebecca Blanchard (Merck)
- Larry Tremaine (Pfizer)
- Feng Hong (Amgen)
- Anita Nelsen (GSK)
- Amir Snapir (Orion Pharma)
- Amelia Warner (Schering-Plough)
- Nadine Cohen (J&J)
- Lea Harty (Pfizer)
- Mark Watson (GŚK)
- Ronald Salerno (Wyeth)
- Julie Friedman (BMS)
- Diane Barnes (Abbott)
- Susan Ray (GŚK)



## Benefits of being a chair

- Interactions with a diverse set of people with different and broad experiences in genomics, both in pharma/biotech but also regulatory organizations
  - Understanding different perspectives
  - Networking
  - External exposure
- Driving/influencing/shaping outcomes of a well-respected organization
- Influence and engagement across industry and regulators
- Leadership experience including ethical, legal, administrative, financial oversight of org
- Co-chair model



#### 2023 Co-Chair Transition Plan

- Adele Mitchell (Biogen) has agreed to take on the role as Co-Chair when Peter steps down in June 2023
- As part of the Co-Chair transition plan we would ask if anyone is interested in becoming a Co-Chair that they contact either Peter, Charlie or Julian

